Kenwood TK380 Type 1 Radio

I’m very new to hand held radios, and hoping someone can help me get started. I live in Southern California, and was given a couple Kenwood TK-380 radios. I purchased the programming software (KPG-49D), and ready to start programming the radii, but again I’m very new, and not sure how to begin. The way I’d like to use these radios is when communicating with people on an off-road remote trails, to communicate in an emergency situation, to listen to any emergency services, and simply radio to radio direct communication (I believe this is simplex). I searched for a list of repeaters, and plugged a frequency in just to test it out, and the program gives an error that shows frequency is out of range. If the frequency is outside 450 - 490 MHz, I get an error, but it will still write the frequency to the radio. Any help, tips, or guidance will be appreciated. Thanks!

First step is to read the radio and find out what is in there. Remember the radio had three versions * Type 1 450-490 MHz
Type 2 470-512 MHz
Type 3 400-430 MHz

It sounds like the radio is the high band version, so unless your wanted channels are in that 40MHz band - you’re stuck. It writes the frequency, but can’t operate on it.