Which Radio System is Best for Me?

Hey all! I’m brand new to this forum and need some help. But first, I should add that I don’t usually do forums because too often they degenerate to arrogance and bickering by the third post. If that happens here, I’ll simply give up and move on. I’m a newbie and don’t know what I don’t know, so be patient and kind, please.

I’d like to learn a bit more about two-way radio use. I’ve had handheld FRS/GMRS units before, but would like something that allows me to communicate with my family across town (approximately 10 miles), and FRS/GMRS won’t do it. I’d like to not have to get a license, but the more I read, the less convinced I become that doing what I want to do without a license is possible. Furthermore, I’d rather not have to spend $500 and license my wife and son to do this. Frankly, I’m a bit confused by all the options (business radio, amateur/ham radio, VHF, UHF, MURS, etc.). I wish someone could give me pros/cons of the different options. What’s possible and what’s not and what’s the best and most economical option available to me?

GMRS requires a license, so if you are using GMRs frequencies, you are operating illegally.

You will require an outside antenna, mounted on the roof, or in a high attic to even attempt the ranges you are looking at. A GMRS license and powerful enough base station will work. If there are GMRS repeaters that are open, or require fees, you could try that.

Without a license, only MURS is an option. 2 watts with a high enough antenna, may get you where you want to go.

Hi, welcome to the forums!

I understand that you would like to learn more about two way radios in general and if they would be a solution for what you need without the need to spend hundreds of dollars on a license. You also want to know what radio service would be best for family use.