Wouxun GMRS radio to buy

First of all I am very new to the radio world and this is my first time on the forum so hi all. I just recently got my GMRS license and am thinking about getting my ham. I really want to buy a nice GMRS HT and I’m looking at the KG-UV9GX or KG-935G but trying to justify the extra $50. The output wattage is really on my mind but it seems like they are the same. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

1 Like

It sounds like you want the radio with the most useless selling points that you will get bored with. I have become a minimalist in my old age and would suggest that if I wanted a new 5w HT, I would go with something more along the lines of a Radioddity GM-30 for under $40. Seriously, you can get one for each and every member of your household for the price of one of the ones you mentioned. Keep in mind too, that those fancy full-color screens are the absolute worst when it comes to battery life. Go basic!

1 Like