Which radio for the head set?

Hello, I’m an almost total radio newbie, and I’ve seeking some information I’ve been unable to locate elsewhere online.

I’m an avid Airsoft player, and I need a decent two-way radio for on-field communication with my team mates. Almost every player uses one form of FRS/GMRS radio or another, and that’s all I’m looking for.

Normally, I’d just head down to my local Radio Shack or Wal-Mart and snag the one with the best listed stats, but I have a tactical headset I’d really like to be able to use, and I need to know (before I buy) which radios I need to be looking at!

I have a “Cavalvy Elite II” tactical headset, with a Motorola 2-pin connector.

Thats the exact connector I’ve got. Are there any new (or relatively new) Moto FRS/GMRS radios out there that will take this connector? If not, is there an adapter I pick up that’ll convert it to single pin?

Thanks for any info!

Does no one know?

Yes.

That is a Motorola two-prong plug, also known as the Motorola M1 plug.

It is designed for Motorola business radios and will not work with the single-pin Motorola FRS radios. You may be able to find an adapter but be VERY careful while shopping because there are two versions of the two-prong plug that are sometimes called the M1 and the M2. Other manufacturers refer to the single-pin as an M2S and the multi-pin as an M2, so there is no standardization in nomenclature. The best bet is to visit a Motorola dealer to see if they can find an adapter for you.

But quite frankly, you will pay as much for an adapter as a brand-new headset. The best course-of-action for you right now would be to sell that headset to someone with a Motorola business radio and get a similar headset with the proper single-pin FRS plug. (Just be careful that you only get the Motorola FRS plug. Other makes will not fit, except that some models of the Midland and the TriSquare headsets may be the same plug … but don’t quote me on that.)