What to use for major obstructions?

Hello,

I work in a warehouse that’s approximately the size of 4 football fields. There are 4 separate warehouses that all connect along the long side. Communicating from the offices which are attached at one end to the back of the furthest warehouse is fairly difficult. Things are made more difficult because one warehouse is concrete and most are filled with racks of core (basically solid walls of rock). Our current Motorola CP200 radios do an OK job across most of the warehouse but fail to reach all the way across.

What I’m struggling with is how to make sure that signal reaches across the entirety of the warehouse. We are testing some GMRS radios but having to use a call sign and get a licence isn’t the way we want to go if we can help it. I’ve been looking into repeaters but it seems like they’re usually GMRS from what I’ve read. Does anyone know what the best setup would be for this type of short range but very high obstruction environment would be?

Thank you

Hi, The CP200 is rated at 4.6 watts and the highest wattage GMRS radios are going to max out at 5 watts or less, so a GMRS radio isn’t going to get you much better coverage. The CP200 is only FCC type accepted for business frequencies, so, at least in the US, you won’t be able to talk to the GMRS radios anyway.

There are two viable options and neither involve using GMRS radios. The first option is to use a repeater, which does make sense in your scenario. I don’t know where you heard that repeaters are usually GMRS, because it is definitely not true. There are many makes and models of business repeaters for both UHF and VHF bands. For the typical office and warehouse setup spread out across multiple buildings within the same complex, a repeater is generally considered the way to go.