Walkies for school emergency lock-down

Bit of a left-field question that I was wondering if anyone can help me with.

I am a network manager at a primary (elementary) school in London, UK. We are currently looking into ways of getting an emergency tone to play across the school site to warn everyone that a lock-down is in place. We have been getting quotes for a standalone tannoy system to be installed, with a speaker in every classroom and corridor. However these quotes have been very expensive as it is quite an old school and a very large wiring job.

I have been wondering whether we could use our two-way walkie talkies to sound an alarm. We currently use around 20 Kenwood TK-3301 walkies around the site, mostly so staff who are outside on the playground can contact those inside. These are all tuned to channel 1. I notice that this model has an alert tone feature, which I’ve tested and is quite nice and loud.

My initial thought was that we could purchase more of these walkies that could be left in situ in every classroom/corridor and be left permanently turned on at a loud volume. The first problem with this that I thought of is that we occasionally get interference on channel 1 from a local motorcycle training company who use radios. I haven’t tried changing the channel site-wide to see if this is eliminated, but obviously if there were interference noise on the radios in a classroom situation, this would be no good - especially if they were turned up to a loud volume. Does anyone know if there is a smart way to stop interference other than just trying all the channels?