VHF Marine

looking for suggestions, keep in mind I have no radio experience ,- im a fisherman and live near a big lake (lake huron) -the fishermen on the lake use vhf marine radios to talk to each other, work well when close to each other -when I am on my boat near the other boats I can hear them easy enough on my vhf marine boat radio. I would like to hear these fisherman when at home or work (anywhere from 5 to 25 miles away and more ). most fisherman talk on channel 68 and jump around to a handful of channels to talk to each other for any length of time (marine vhf channels are from 156 MHz to 162 MHz).note -I don’t want to transmit only receive . whats my best bet to accomplish this ?
is a high tower required with a vhf antenna on top and a vhf receiver? I do have access to about a 50 foot tower.
is there a scanner that can pickup vhf 25 miles away or more without a high antenna ?
what does a repeater do- my guess is record and transmit from one area to another -leap frogging a transmission so to speak -but im not sure if this works for marine vhf ?-using repeaters are you able to get vhf from far distances with short antenna? I don’t even know if there are repeaters near me
also ive read online something about streaming vhf marine channels but I think its only channels dedicated to weather , coast guard etc.
there’s a coast guard tower near by but its unlikely I can utilize it somehow.
thanks for any info

For transmit and receive, you want to get your antenna as high as possible. As I understand it, it’s not legal for you to transmit anyway from an onshore station like that without any real purpose.

So that’s about it, as high as possible. Any scanner will pick up boats, but its all in the antenna. A junk scanner with an antenna at 100ft will blow the socks off of a 3000 dollar unit with a rubber duck.