Vhf antenna help

I have no experience with antenna building, and know very little about them.

Can anyone tell me if a scanner antenna, will transmit for vhf??

I made this and it receives great,
https://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=https%3A%2F%2Fi.pinimg.com%2Foriginals%2F3d%2F56%2F25%2F3d56255e49dfa86e41c8a7acb11e7bdb.jpg&imgrefurl=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.pinterest.com%2Fpin%2F363806476125989671%2F&tbnid=cAkJFS6XsB7mlM&vet=1&docid=5DPPH-JmAbbJ_M&w=506&h=754

I want to make a vhf antenna that will reach approx 30 miles on land, for use in hunting club.

Thanks in advance for your help.

The real issue with the difference between scanner antennas and transmit antennas is their impedance. For receive, it doesn’t matter - so having an antenna design with multiple different length elements produces results that are a combination of lots of useful efficient ‘collectors’ of RF energy. Transmit is more of an issue because the transmitter needs to see an antenna that has as close to an impedance of 50Ohms. If the antenna is 200Ohms impedance at maybe marine band, 50 Ohms at the ham band and 150 Ohms in the aircraft band - it will transmit happily on the ham band, but even if the radio can transmit elsewhere, the wrong impedance results in low power and even damage in some cases, as what the radio sticks out, comes right back top the cable!

Antennas have properties too - they can have a nice 50Ohm impedance and be totally rubbish at getting RF out and collecting it back. We determine how good they work with a gain figure. If you end a bit of coax cable, and take the inner conductor up with some stiff wire around 19-20" long, and take an identical length and go down from the coax braid, you have created the ‘standard’ ? wave antenna design. 50Ohm, and having a gain figure of 0dB - compared to a ? wave antenna (that it is!) It will function on the 2m ham band fine. Trim the ends to make it shorter and it works on marine band. Make it longer and it’s good for aircraft band.