Very new user needing help

I picked up Cobra microtalk CXT345 a couple of days ago to use between two cars on a trip back to Florida and they worked quite well. However we were planning on using them between our condos when we got home. Our condos are no more then a half mile apart and they don’t work at all. These are supposed to have a 26 mile range out in the open so I fully expected to be able to use them at home. Is this normal? Is there something else I can get that may be better?

maybe something is blocking the signal…test em in other location.or maybe there is a broken antenna.hope it helps, im not an expert…

All effective communications is line of sight.

Anytime you put anything one or more wavelengths in size between the transmit and the receive antenna - you might have no reception, unless the signal can find something to bounce off of.

Some building materials such as steel reinforced concrete is opaque to UHF signals.

I would imagine that there is a building 3 or more stories tall between the two of you, and or the foliage on the trees that is blocking your signals.

So am I completely out of luck or is there something else I can get that might work?
Thanks

Not necessarily. There are a number of factors that determine range and as the other members said, something is likely blocking the signal. It could be a lot of buildings, foliage or hills, or it could be something in your condo or on your property. Depending on where you are and what is around you, there may be no options at all, or there may be many and it may be a simple solution. To offer a more definitive answer, we would need to know more about your environment and what is in it.

It is entirely possible that all you may need to do is move to the right spot in your condo or change the direction of your antenna.