Using baofeng's dual channels to talk/listen on separate channels

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie to the community, just getting into it.
Currently I’m just using it to transmit on FRS frequencies in the right power, so that I’m not violating any FCC rules. (basically, I’m just using it as a fancy talkabout)

I had a question about a creative use of baofeng’s dual channel, and hope that someone can help me.

I noticed that baofeng has dual channels, and while I can only transmit on 1 channel at a time, my understanding is that I can listen to another channel. Well, that got me thinking:
Can I set up 2 baofengs, so that radio1 is transmitting on channelA, but listening to channelB, while radio2 is transmitting on channelB and listening on channelA?
I’m assuming: if I do that, would I be able to talk and listen at the same time with the other radio? (so that it’s more like a phone where we can talk OVER each other instead of waiting for the end of transmission?)

I realize that this setup would only work with that particular radio pair, but I guess that’s what I’m looking for - some more “natural” communication between 2 radios on road trips between 2 cars.

Question: would something like that be possible?

A single radio is simplex, as in it transmits or receives on the same channel or it is semi-duplex and transmits and receives on different frequencies. Pressing transmit stops reception stone dead. Even if you had two of them either end, holding the receiving one to you ear and pressing transmit on another usual makes the receiver stop receiving because it gets swamped by the transmitter, so no, it won’t work.

1 Like

Hi paulears,

Thank you so much for you answer and explanation. I appreciate the expertise.

Actually you are violating FCC rules. Baofengs are not FCC certified for use on FRS frequencies and as such, it is not legal for you to use them to transmit with. The only thing Baofengs are legal for is the amateur radio service, which you must be licensed for.