Two way and car mounted radio Help Please

Hello I am very new to radios and am looking for advice or if this is even possible. I’m looking for lisence free two way radios that can reach up to 2 miles or longer if possible, that will talk with a vehicle mounted CB type radio. Is this Possible? Thank you for the Help

You’ve got a bit of a snag here. When you say CB type, if you mean a CB (which is a historic but still used system that uses frequencies in the 27MHz band) then hand held CB radios are very awkward. Long pull up telescopic antennas and ranges that can make 2 miles seem like a thousand on some days yet on others have you chatting with somebody in a different country. If somebody has a real CB then it’s usually best to treat these now as mobile to mobile. You can get things like the Uniden PRO401HH Handheld CB Radio which has a long rubber duck style antenna, but range is not huge or predictable. These kinds of products are the only ones commonly available - for real CB. The popular GMRS and FRS radios tend to have similar ranges, but there are rules - making hand-held to hand-held the only one for the very simple FRS, while you can do more with GMRS but there are more rules on what you can’t do. If the vehicle has a radio, first thing is to find out what it for certain. CB, rather than CB type - because many folk struggle to tell the difference.

All this said - distance is usually down to topography. two people ten miles apart both on hilltops - works fine. Two people half a mile apart with a hill between them can’t hear each other.

Thank you. Hey I’m just looking for something simple that I can have in the truck and be able to talk with friends/family while out hunting and driving around.

GMRS or FRS, but one is more complicated to obtain than the other - and the easy option has very short range - but don’t expect huge amounts of distance with any of them.