TV Antenna, what to do with it?

Like i said in my last thread, im new to the indepth world of radio, but ive been listening for years… id like to hook up my old cobra 148 and see who talking around this area since ive only been here a few years. also id like to move my radio shack pro 2096 scanner inside instead of in my car to make room for something new.

so ive been doing alot of reading on different antenna styles functions and purposes. Some things i understand and know more about. and somethings im more confused about. Theres a tv antenna mounted on the roof of my house, I really should take a picture and post it so im not giving you guys false information and you can see 1st hand what i have. but until then this is the closest example to what i have.

(however i believe the arrow shaped portion is the opposite direction "wider elements towards the 90ish degree V shaped element thats on the right side in that photo. <<<i bet you’ll read that 2 or 3 times lol

anyways. from what ive read, i learned a bunch of “how it works” on the antenna topics, but not so much answers to my questions “will it work and how well”

Heres what i got out of it all. For this antenna to be used with a scanner. Turn it roll it on its side. and have it rotated marginally so that the narrower elements point in the direction of the furthest point at which id want to recieve transmissions from. appx 12 miles UHF. and the furthest the exact opposite only about 2 miles on VHF frequencies. Also seperate the antenna from the mast with a non conductive supportive material such as a treated piece of wood. It has a flat 2 wire cable thats cut off dangling from it, i suppose i should run new 75 ohm cable, right? What im not sure of is how to hook the wire to the antenna. i guess once i get up there and look at whats there i might be able to figure it out.