Total Newbie

Hey guys! Im new to the two way radio scene. me and my dad got a set of Baofeng UV-5Rfor use while on town watch and it wors great but i was told i may be violating laws because of licensing or something. what channels/freq are vailble to the evryday, non-ham user? thanks

You need to look up GMRS and FRS but sadly, the Baofengs don’t comply with US regulations for these bands, so if you are in the US (I’m in England) my feeling is that you can study a bit and take a ham licence test and use them on ham bands, or you can purchase a business licence from the FCC. Anything else leaves you on the wrong side of the law. Of course there are plenty of people who quite innocently are using them on the frequencies in them when you buy them - in some areas these will be unoccupied while some might be the channel of your local Police or Fire Department, and your ‘innocent’ use could put you in very deep water. Don’t know the punishment your side of the water, but here it’s a fine, confiscation and probably a criminal record - prison is unlikely unless you knew you were deliberately interfering with something and caused loss of life.

Officially - you cannot use them, but ethic and morals come into play now you know the restrictions.

You are out of luck. You need a business license, or an amateur license. For your use, you’d need a business license. Use of those radios without the appropriate license can bring fines of up to $10,000 per offense/incident.

These radios are not certified for use on the license free MURS or FRS frequencies, or certified for the license-required GMRS.

It is always best to study up on radio regulations, prior to a purchase.