School Project: (Very) long range communication, where to start?

So, I’m not entirely sure if I’m at the right place with the problem I’m trying to solve, but:
I’m relatively new to radio communication and couldn’t find the information I intended to find after long research- and my problem is not really about sound transmission, it’s about data transmission and the hardware required for a relatively special case.
So I’m searching for a way to transmit data over a range of approx. 150km (~93miles) - No obstacles - Ground to stratosphere (100% atmosphere down to 1%) - as light as possible, as energy efficient as possible, with as much data transmission as possible (would be happy with a couple dozen bits/s in this case) - But I honestly don’t have any idea what I’m looking for and how to be at least theoretically sure that the transmission works - if it’s possible at all - all I found we’re articles that met the requirements not explaining how it’s done or information explaining how it’s done not meeting the requirements.

So- does anyone have an idea in which direction I could go, or what I need to calculate the theoretical data transmission rate/ range (with transmitter-specific parameters) since I can’t even find any formulas for whatever reason and all values I found for certain frequencies are inconsistent.

I would be very happy about any hints regarding the situation and I wan’t to apologize for my maybe not perfect English - The purpose btw: A slightly advanced school project - need to communicate with a UAV in stratosphere - long story - a lot of problems since the UAV doesn’t exist - y e t. I’m on it.

I’m not sure about what exactly you are doing, but the key is path loss. 150Km isn’t an issue if it’s line of site. The Raspberry Pi folk are doing data . If the direction is more ground based, then there might simply be no path at all. Do you have more info we can have?