Retired Firefighter need a rescue!

Hello everyone,

I just jumped on this forum, seeking advice.

I’m looking to get a GMRS license and buy a water proof GMRS for a buyout bag I’m putting together. I know a lot of people have mixed thought on the quality of the Baofengs, but I’ve decided on one of these 2, the GMRS-9R or the UV-9G, based on budget. I also picked these 2 because they are readily available to purchase for my trip in 2 weeks, and they are water proof. I just don’t know which one would be better, easier to learn or if one operates better than the other? Can someone out there please help me decide?

I have some experience with technology, and I’ve purchased a book on the operation and programming of the Baofengs, so I’m confident I’ll get the hang of their use. The only experience I’ve had with radios is the old “brick” Motorola MX’s we used on the job!

John

Both radios come pre-programmed to GMRS and FRS channels, so you don’t need to program them. If you want to add tones and decide you would like to program on computer instead of from the keyboard, make sure you get a genuine FTDI cable. They are more expensive than the cheaper counterfeit chip cables, but you will thank me later.

Again, there is no need for a cable unless you really want to play around with tones. You will not be able to program either radio for any bands outside of GMRS and FRS.

Both radios are updated versions of the highly-regarded Baofeng UV-82C radio. Both are decent quality for a $40 radio. They are nowhere near the quality of a good Wouxun and the “waterproofing” only applies if you do not remove the cover to add any accessories to the speaker mic jacks. For family recreational use, they are fine radios. Be sure to buy from a reputable dealer as there can always be defective radios shipped from China … but that’s what to expect from a $40 disposable radio.