Radios for Biological Consulting

I am a field biologist and do most of my work in remote areas (USA) that are often hilly (WV, KY, VA, TN, etc.). I have been in this profession for 4 years with two different companies and I am agian dealing with a communication issue that arises every year. How can we communicate between multiple teams (both in trucks and on foot) when cell phones do not work. We have a license for GMRS two way radios, but we often find we are not able to communicate when line of site is not optimal, and when we are miles apart. We are thinking of outfitting all vehicles with perminate radios and then haveing mobile radios for when we are on foot. Would CB’s be the best bet for vehicle to vehicle communications, and what is the range of CB’s? Should we got to VHF radios when we are on foot? Any suggestions would be great! I know repeaters extend transmission distances, but we are never in the same ares for more than a few days, so I don’t think this would do us any good? Are repeaters easy to set up and mobile (i.e. can they be mounted to trucks?). Money is always a issue, but communication is important for our line of work (saftey and data transmission), so we don’t mind investing in something that will work. We do a lot of work for the Forest Service, and they often let us use their radios, wich seem to get good ranges. Any idea on what kind of radios they use (I assume they use repeaters since they get long ranges in remote areas)? I’m sure some of these questions come up a lot, so i appreciate any help.