Radio for Small Sound Productions

Hey everyone!
I’m totally new to this 2 way radio thing. I am a sound engineer, and am now producing a few of my own small scale productions. The production companies I currently work with all have Motorola radios.

I need 2 way radios that will have the ability to have the external microphones. We are often clipping them to our collars and such. Not opposed to suggestions for budget or high $$. I want to find the best for my situation.

I am beyond confused as to what to get, what I can broadcast on frequency wise. Do i need an FCC license or not?

I’m open to any and all suggestions. Would rather do things right from the start and not have headaches. Feel free to suggest web sites for reading and research. I’ll try not to ask stupid questions.

Thanks
Lee

You can get good headsets regardless of the radio. You just need to match the pins. (They are specific to the brand and the model.) There is a huge variety of headsets for two-way radios available. Check out our forum host’s website.

For your purposes, you may want to consider the “surveillance” style headset. They come with an earpiece that goes in your ear, a curly plastic audio tube behind the ear and a separate mic you clip to your short or collar. The reason why I think these would work best is because you can wear them underneath monitor headphones. I personally like the 1.5 wire headset because there is one wire from the radio to the mic, and a second wire goes to the headset. Others like the 2-wire because they can dangle the mic out the front of their shirt or jacket.

The best advice on headsets, based on wearing them 12-hours for the past 25-years, is to not buy cheap. Get good quality headsets, and especially ones where you can get replacement parts. The clear plastic audio tubes get brittle after a few years, and once you get the tiniest microscopic crack, they need replacing.