Public School Emergency Plan

I am the Superintendent of a small school district. We are developing a communication system to be used during emergency situations. We cannot afford the $18,000 to buy hand helds that work with our bus radios, so I have started looking a less expensive solutions. I have tried some inexpensive FRS radios and they are marginal. We need to reach 2 miles and through cinder block walls of buildings, etc.

I am looking for some help understanding the advantages and differences between UHF and VHF small business radios. I am just starting to learn about these radios so some down to earth explanation would help a lot. The FRS radios have multiple channels while the small business radios have only one, but always advertise how may frequencies they have. I need to know the advantages of the frequencies.

I can probably afford up to about $150 per radio.

Any suggestions, other than the obvious, “go back to school”

I’ll start with a little info.

Channels are fixed frequencies. A GMRS/FRS radio has 22 channels. Each channel is a certain frequency. These CANNOT be changed.
Commercial radios also have channels. Anywhere from one to 300+. These are programmed into the radio. Typically by a programmer or the dealer.
Commercial radios are typically more powerful (actual output as opposed to claimed power). A main reason for this is due to better antennas.
Cheap radios do not have detachable antennas due to a restriction in the FRS rules.

IMO GMRS/FRS is NOT an option. These are radios which have both FRS and GMRS frequencies, and also seven shared frequencies. Confusing, huh?
For them you need a license for every “family”. At least one member of a family must be licensed. The license cost $85 for 5 years. MANY schools and companies ignore this license requirement but I’ll assume you are not like that. Also, the FCC does investigate unlicensed users, especially commercial and high profile users.