programing

Hi everybody. I’m very new to two way radios, but going to need it for my business. I have my eyes on Baofeng UV-82, I know it is just entry level radio, but for now it will sufis. What worries me is, when I read that it needs to be programmed. Why is that? What is Chirp? Will it work even without programming, just by tuning the frequency? Is it too complicated and should I rather get something simpler that doesn’t need programming?
Thank you very much for all comments and advise.

Well you need at least two, of course.

I suppose the question is - what do you want it to do? Chirp or the manufacturers programming software just makes it less painless to get essential info into a radio - now that they all are so clever and complicated.

Looking at a screen like an Excel spreadsheet with columns and titles is a lot easier than going through the parameters one by one.

You can enter a frequency into the radio that matches your license - which will usually give you a frequency and a CTCSS tone. This means you radio will only burst into life when a matching radio transmits, and vice versa. You could forget the CTCSS tone, and just enter a frequency, and leave it at that - no chirp or external computer connection, and for many things this is enough.

You could, but not legally, enter one of the licence free frequencies and use that. However, if you want to use it for business, I’d strongly advise doing it properly - and paying for a license. Business users generally have just one channel - but it’s perfectly possible to have much more complicated systems. Depends what you need.

To conclude - the manual that comes with the radio explains how to do the programming from the panel. That radio is not one of the simplest - as it has dual bands and dual PTT - which you won’t need I doubt. It’s a pleasant enough radio, but keep in mind that a licence is ?75 for 5 years - so more than the radios.