Post your CB radio questions and comments here!

Are you new to Citizens Band radio and want to know the basics? Are you an old CB pro who wants to talk shop? Post your queries and comments here!

I just bought a pair of motorola walkie talkies but cabt gdt them to fhe right channel so that my cb can pick them up? Yep I’m clueless!! Please help

If they are Motorola I am guessing they are Talkabout radios, but just to be sure, what model do you have?

Motorola Talkabout consumer radios operate on UHF FRS/GMRS frequencies. They will not talk with CB radios.

For the basics on CB and FRS/GMRS radios, check out these two episodes of The Two Way Radio Show Podcast.

TWRS-15 - An Introduction to CB Radios

TWRS-01 - An Introduction to Consumer Radios

There are a lot of resources here to help you learn the basics. Welcome to the forums!

Hi

I am new to the forum but I have had some earlier cb experience about 30 years ago. I am now retired and would like to get back into it. I have a president grant mobile and a navaho trc 427 base station. Neither has been run in about 25 years but were both working when I retired them.

I am looking at buying a sirio sy274 4 element beam antenna. I will be mounting it on a 30 ft pole.

My question: The roof of my house is metal, and the antenna will be approx. 10 feet above the roof. Will the metal roof interfere with the beam antenna at that height.

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nosbod

How are you going to mount your rotor and where will it be located?

Hi

The main pole is 20 feet high, mounted from the ground up to the center of the peak of the house at one end. My roof peak is 15 feet. I have a 7 foot insert in side the main pipe. On this insert the rotor will mount and then a 2 foot extension from the rotor for the beam antenna. I will then lift the insert up 6 feet and lock it in place. This will give me a 30 foot height.

The beam antenna will be mounted horizontal.

Thanks

Nosbod