Newbie with an out-of-the-ordinary question

Hi, I’m an absolute beginner to 2 way radios (my background is computing and coding) and have been asked by a charity organisation I volunteer for to investigate and source a 2 way radio solution for our staff and possibly visitors.

I’ve looked at Motorola T92 pmr446 walkie-talkies and they seem to fit the bill. Low power, low cost, no licence, easy to operate, hi-vis, waterproof and able to float (we are a swimming pool). All fine.

The out-of-the-ordinary bit is we also need/would like a second part to the solution if possible. An outdoor PTT public call box for users of the pool to use out-of-hours. It would be great if we could find a pmr446 solution, but it’s not looking very likely.

Does anyone know of a possible solution before I ask my next question?

Not so out-of-the-ordinary, and we will be able to help.

You mentioned the PMR446 radios, which makes us think you are probably in the U.K. Is this correct?

PMR446 radios are similar to the GMRS/FRS radios we have here in the U.S. and Canada. You even have access to some high-end PMR446 radios that we can’t get here, but it seems like the Motorola T92 radios in a PMR446 configuration will work well for you.

Here are a couple of things to understand about two-way radios in general:
#1 - No UHF radio can violate the laws of physics. They are strictly line-of-sight, meaning they will only reliably transmit and receive a distance of a few blocks, regardless of how they are advertised.
#2 - The Motorola T92 is at the high end of consumer-grade radios. They are designed for families to communicate with each other; they are not designed for critical public safety applications. If you are good with that, they will meet your needs. Just be aware that they will not have the lifespan of professional radios, and usually the batteries, charging connectors or headset connectors start to fail after a year or so of hard use.