Newbie here: Here's what I'm gonna use it for, so what should I get ?

Hi, all.

I’m pretty new to the radio scene. I thought that maybe if I gave y’all an overview of my wants/needs out of a 2-way set up, you guys could point me in the right direction.

I’d be using the radios most for relatively casual communication, mostly car to car use during roadtrips, but also on foot. My highest range requirement would likely be opposite ends of an amusement park.

I’ll also be using the radios fairly often on an outdoor firearms range, to communicate with friends during drills, similar to how paintball/airsoft teams use them.

I also anticipate some indoor usage, but not a lot, and nothing like building to building in a major downtown area; more like over a shopping mall or equivalent.

So, given all that, what’s good ? I was thinking the blackbox radios, but the VHF or the UHF ? Or do you think i could squeak by with the GMRS radios ?

Also, for the range, what would a good hands-free set-up be ? A big plus would be a unit that I would be able to wear under some electronic cans (peltors).

Thanks in advance, and nice to meet y’all.

EDIT: I also had another question I forgot to ask. How should I select which frequencies to use ? Is there some way to check and see which freqs are in use around where I live (Austin, TX)? Are some somehow more “optimal” compared to others?

Hi,