Newbie advice needed want long range radio

hi everyone im new to this, but I’ve been testing out the bf888, I think they was anyway, could have been an older model maybe 777 as I only borrowed them ,the range was ok on them but however I’m on the look out for something similar easy to use but with a longer range,quite a few options have come to mind, but I think I can not get anything longer range without going licensed,
these radios are only going to be for personal use family and kids ect ,
so I wanted something simple if possible

I don’t mind getting licensed worse case but a lot of what I would learn in ham radio I wouldn’t use and seems pointless and other family members would be using them and they defo wouldn’t want to learn about radios ,

the bf888 range was good as they look durable easy ptt button flawless really
they breakup around half a mile in built up areas ,as were I am there are plenty of houses and some radios I believe can not go through homes , any advice or links at all would be grateful
and I was also looking at weather you could setup a private channel on amateur radios maybe or not if such a thing even exists
confused .com :slight_smile:

many thanks everyone

Welcome to the forums!

A typical handheld radio or “walkie-talkie” of any type, no matter what frequency or service it uses, is going to be limited to short range communications on its own. They are limited in power and their antennas are designed for portability by hand, so you will not get the range that you could from a mobile radio in a vehicle or a base station with more power and a larger antenna.

What you are getting from the BF-888 is about what you can expect from other handheld transceivers with the same wattage and antenna structure. Optimizing the antenna will certainly help, but if you want to increase range significantly, you will need to connect your radio to a mobile or base station antenna, which would not be practical if you want mobility on foot.