New to radio's and need some help, helping others.

I’m new to GMRS, having received my license a couple of months ago, and now that makes me the best source of information that my church has and they would like to tap that source - and frankly I don’t have a problem with trying to help them.

My church is wanting to put together a limited network for emergency use, the problem is they want to avoid FRS fearing that in such times the FRS will be overwhelmed with chatter, but only have a consumer GMRS radio budget - but the inability to license a dozen people.

Can anyone give me some helpful idea’s to pass on to them?

We live on the front range of Colorado - so we have some hill country to deal with, my initial thought was to see about the possibility of 2-3 GMRS licenses plus a mobile and a strategically placed base station ( which I was thinking about obtaining after a little saving ), but that doesn’t get past the issue of putting the rest of the other 9-10 people in communication with those with GMRS licenses.

If the folks here could tell me what our options might be, that would really help.

GMRS stations are allowed to communicate with FRS stations, on the 7 shared channels between the services.

There is no way around licensing. GMRS is intended for family use, not business/group use, and the licensing rules reflect that.

Every GMRS user must be licensed individually, unless they’re members of a family, only need one license per family.

Cost of a license is $17/year. If your proposed users can’t afford that, they have much bigger problems than setting up an ‘emergency network’, they’re broke, and about to starve.

Worse, costwise, is that to get any real range, you will need to install a repeater on high ground, and not only is this moderately expensive, it also limits your users to getting radios capable of using a repeater. While there are a few, most ‘bubblepack’ GMRS/FRS radios are not capable of repeater use.