MURS use in Canada for 4 fishing boats

Hi All- I am very new at this, so please be patient with me on my ignorance.

I am planning on a family vacation in a remote part of Ontario, Canada next May and I want to purchase 4 walkie-talkies for the 4 boats that will be out and about on the large lake. I have looked into the various licensing requirements, and I am leaning towards a MURS system because of the simplicity and range in this environment.

In the US, I understand that there are 5 frequencies, and if you purchase the unit that is designed for this- you are legal. However, I’m not so sure about Canada. I looked up the Canadian version of the FCC and it is listed below.

If someone could please comment about MURS in canada, and perhaps what they would recommend for 4 walkie / talkies for use in boats I would greatly appreciate the help.

Best regards,
Bob

SAB-002-14 – Multi-Use Radio Services in the 150 MHz VHF Band

Deferral of Multi-Use Radio Services (MURS) in Canada

In 2005, Industry Canada held a public consultation[Footnote1]to invite comments regarding policy changes to accommodate new services including MURS radio products available in the United States market. Following this consultation, in June 2009, the Department released its decisions in [Spectrum Allocation and Utilization Policy Regarding the Use of Certain Frequency Bands Below 1.7 GHz for a Range of Radio Applications – SP 1.7 GHz,]“2009 policy decision”).

Included in this policy document was a decision to introduce MURS devices in the 150 MHz band (i.e. 151.8200 MHz, 151.8800 MHz, 151.9400 MHz, 154.5700 MHz and 154.600 MHz), along with the following transition components:

1. a five-year transition period was established from the publication date of the June 2009 spectrum policy, after which the distribution and sale of MURS devices would be permitted;