multiple Radio Questions

Hi there my names Owen and im looking to buy 2 way uhf radios under licence for my new job but here is my problems…
I’m looking for a Base station and 2 handheld units.

I am a Gamekeeper and contract to many estates.

When i look on E bay i see dual band hand helds and mobile units which sound prefect as i can tune them my self is this aloud??
also i need the units to be transferable over frequencies as i work on a few shoots some on vhf and some on uhf. can i tune these to a new band as required I’m unsure of this also.

as most gamekeepers do not know what frequencies there radios operate on can u get a handheld that will scan bands and find the band if you key up one of there radios.

sorry quick update im based in the uk.

Thank you massively in advance or any help as im not a proffesional at this :rolleyes:

Hey Owen! Welcome
I’m not too sure about the licensing rules in the UK but be sure to check with your gov. authorities before operating on any particular frequencies. Here in the United States all business and public safety frequencies must be registered and licensed with the Federal Communications Commision, with a few exceptions.

I would not normally recommend the dual band radios off eBay for a couple reasons: the quality is not what you would see in a dedicated commercial radio such as a Motorola, Kenwood, Vertex, Icom, etc. The other issue I have with eBay radios is the lack of dedicated warranty support, or a “real” company with a receptionist that you can call for help, troubleshooting, or repair. With that being said, your situation does come up often and various members ask about a dual band, self-programmable radio for its convenient features.

If you go ahead and purchase the dual band radios here is the answer to most of your questions.