Motorola Talkabout - Short range

Hello folks - newbie here. We just bought a pair of Motorola Talkabout walkie talkies (2-Way radio, T4XX Series) from Costco, and the range is ridiculously short.
We live in Thousand Oaks, CA, where there are mountains around, but i’m talking about not receiving messages 0.1 miles apart. I want to think it is something basic i’m not doing right, and wanted to consult here before I throw them back at the Costco customer care.

I’m using the default #1 Channel, which by the manual says: 462.5625 MHz / GMRS/FRS. Should I be using a different channel, maybe?

Thanks.

The first thing to determine is whether the range is shorter than what you are expecting, or shorter than what you SHOULD expect with these radios.

They transmit on the UHF two-way radio band, and this means that ALL transmissions are line-of-sight. Average range in real world conditions in an urban area with buildings and trees is a few blocks. More expensive FRS or GMRS radios may result in slightly better reception because of better receiver sections but the ugly reality of consumer two-way radios is that REAL range is about 1/10 of a mile in an urban area and maybe 1/2 a mile to 2 miles at most in an open area with no hills in between. The most expensive FRS or GMRS radio on the market cannot better these ranges by more than a few hundred feet at best.

That’s one of the reasons why these consumer radios are cheap.

The other reason is that one cannot refute the laws of physics with marketing speak. Even top notch companies like Motorola have to exaggerate their claims just to compete with everyone else on the market. If both radios were on top of mountains peaks, one MIGHT get 30 or 40 miles. In real life, it is about 1/2 a mile.