Motorola PM400 Antenna Question, Need Help

My son’s fire department gave me a Motorola PM400 radio to listen to fire calls. I want to set the radio up inside my home. I have a A/C to D/C convertor and have everything set up and working. I need help with finding a antenna that I can it on the floor and get decent reception. I now have a magnet mount antenn sitting on the floor hooked to the radio, but the recepiton is poor, it’s a cheap small antenna. The connector on the radio for the antenna looks like on that’s on my TV to hook my cable to. I am new to radios as you can tell. What Antenna would be Best for using inside the home? Thanks

Those are very good radios, and they can be programmed for either VHF or UHF channels. You don’t really need to know what those terms mean, but basically before anyone can give you advice, we will need to know the frequency that the fire department is using. It will be a number, followed by MHz. If the numbers are between 136 and 174 MHz, it is a VHF radio. If it is between 400 to 470 MHz, it is UHF.

The antenna must be matched to the frequency range, and this is why we will need to know the frequency they are broadcasting on.

Even if the department don’t know the frequency, there are comprehensive databases of scanner frequencies that you can look up the name of the department and find it quite quickly. Or if you want to tell us your location, someone on here can maybe look up the frequency for you.

The company that hosts this forum can help guide you to the proper antenna once they know the frequency. One thing to consider is that two-way radios are line-of-sight transmissions so the higher the antenna, the better.