Motorola CT250

I have the radio, I have the programming cord. I am running linux but I have windows installed as a virtual machine.

I bought the radio for work. Im a truck driver. It would be much easier for me to communicate with the yard workers directly and better for them as well. I asked my companies people to program it and they not so subtly brushed off my request. Screw them. Ill do it myself. Problem is I do not know where to start.

Id like to have one channel but programmed as channel 19 which is found on CB so I can communicate with other trucks on the road. Installing a stand alone CB doesnt really do me any good as we switch trucks daily.

I want another channel to be programmed to be used with the yard workers.

Where do I start? How does all work? How do I do it for free?

Thanks!

Well, as far as channel 19 is concerned, not gonna happen. This radio operates at frequencies far away from the CB channels. It just isn’t physically possible. This radio operates on the VHF or UHF business band (one or the other, not both), depending on the model you have.

Your company has the right to deny programming of a radio to operate on their frequencies. They are licensed to operate and are responsible for any people operating under their license. They can deny operation, and you could be subject to termination of employment.

The programming software is not freeware. After research, it costs about $250 from Motorola, after filling out paperwork that satisfies their qualifications to purchase said software.

There is no way to do it for free, unless you know someone with the software to program the radio. Also, you need the frequency the yard workers operate on. Also, your radio has to be compatible with the band, either VHF or UHF, with said frequencies.

This isn’t what you want to hear; but it is the plain truth.