Midland GXT-1000 vs Older Midlands

Hello,

I’ve been using some Midland GXT-400 series radios for quite a few years now, particularly when we head out for vacations in the high desert. They’re made good and work well and I like that they run on 4 AA cells, but at times their range is quite limiting and it’s easy to ‘lose’ the other party. I’m wondering if the newer GXT-1000 radios would be a significant upgrade or not? Even if I could get another 1/4 mile out of 'em, it might be worth it.

Thanks for any insight.

David

Hi David, the GXT-400 is a 4 Watt radio and the GXT1000 is 5 Watts, so you may have a little more coverage. The GXT-400 was discontinued several years ago and was essentially replaced with the GXT760, which is a 5 Watt radio as well. Both the GXT760 and GXT1000 use 4 AA batteries and rechargeable battery packs.

Rick, Thanks for your comments.

I went ahead and bought a pair of the GXT-1000’s to see if they are any better than the GXT-450’s I’ve had for several years now. Last night I ran my first quasi-scientific test on the FRS channels in and around my neighborhood. So I guess this will be my contribution to the product reviews here.

Here in Oregon, there are quite alot of trees. I’m in a moderately populated city, and there is continuous housing in almost any direction. But rather than just driving straight down the road within line of sight, I thought I’d choose a direction that would challenge the radios ability to make the trip, so I opted for a more diagonal approach, with plenty of obstacles between the transmit and receive radios.

I placed one of each model in my van, sitting on a box right next to the window. Since I often use my radios between vehicles, I chose a car-to-person scenario, as it seemed like a good compromise. Beside the radios, I placed a Zoom H2 audio recorder to record everything on the receive end.