KG-905G Disappointing Short Distance Test

Hi…

I am new to GMRS. I recently purchased two Wouxun KG-905G HT radios (buytwowayradios.com), replacing the stock antennas with the Nagoya NA-771G. I reside in a suburban subdivision. For my initial test (running 5w on Ch 5), I took one radio to a 3rd floor unit in a building 0.9 miles away, per Google Maps (a bit shorter as the crow flies). I expected a clear signal at that distance, but was not the case. My TX’s were not received by the 3rd floor unit. Their TX’s were hit or miss. Some came through (with static), others did not.

The only impediment I can really think of is a line of those massive overhead electrical power lines that cut across the two locations.

Would that be enough to knock out a signal between these relatively short distance locations? Any suggestions to improve communications?

Obviously, a disappointment starting out.

Thanks in advance.

Those power lines can be very disruptive. However, a lot can depend on how good the “other guy’s” radio is as well. What was he/she using, same thing, or something else? The 905G is a pretty good radio so it’s worth the ask. Try other locations in the house and try going outside to see if it improves. Being inside a home can really do flaky things. Very easy and inexpensive to put a $30 antenna outside the house, run a coax inside, and (with an adaptor) connect it to your handheld. I bet that would improve things dramatically. (Recommend the same if you wish to use it in your car. With a mag-mounted antenna on the center of the roof, and the coax run inside to the driver’s compartment, performance increases dramatically.)

2 Likes