I need some help and You guys seem to have the Know How!

Hello!
First post from an absolute newbie to two way radios AND your forum.

I did a lot of searching on this site and forund nothing pertaining to the radios I just bought and to top it off, There is NOTHING on midlands site about this radio either.:mad:

I bought a Midland GXT 1091 WXVP4 from Cabela’s that I will be using for communication while snowmobiling and some Search and Rescue trips this upcoming winter.

Here’s the issue…
It came with no manual other than the very basic “On off, chanell changing and weather alerts”.

This radio should be able to be programmed with “Privacy” chanels, vibrate mode, etc…

I looked on Midland’s web site and did a product search for this model and it came back “No Matches”:frowning:

There are MANY manuals listed in Pdf form but there is no Manual listed for this model on their site either.:confused:

I would have just simply taken the radios back but while on the way home I ordered two semi expensive speaker mikes for them and those can’t be returned…They were actually more money than the radios.:rolleyes:

I need some real help, advice on how to program these things for privacy chanels, vibrate mode, selected chanel scan and so on sooo…

Anybody have any ideas how to make these things do all they are supposed to do?

Sorry to be so “Needy” on my first post!.

Lance.

It is more or less this radio just with a different face plate and higher price: http://www.buytwowayradios.com/products/midland/midland-gxt-1000-vp4.aspx

Here is the manual: http://www.buytwowayradios.com/Products/Midland/manuals/GXT-1000-manual.pdf

Some stores have the manufacturer make a “special” model for them to sell at a higher price. They make some cosmetic changes to them and create a new model number. We feel that businesses that do this are being dishonest and overcharging. Then as you noted there is often a catch in that there is no manual and no one even knows what it is.