Help

I’m very new to this so I’m sorry if this is in the wrong place. I have two Midland GXT860s. When I got them they both worked fine and both charged just fine with the red light indicator turning on when both units were plugged into the base. I generally use these while in the woods to communicate with my friends who also have Midland units. One of the units stopped charging and I can not figure out why. I have contacted Midland and they are out of warranty.

The unit that does not work will not charge at all. I have swapped batteries, tried “AA” batteries and even taken both units apart to compare wiring, check connections, check for corrosion and everything else I can think of, however; no matter what I do or try the one unit will not charge and shows no red light on the charging base when it is plugged in. I know it is not a power issue on the board because if you plug it into the base, even though the red light does not come on (indicating the unit is charging), the unit itself will still power on. Once the unit is removed from the base it powers off.

Is there anything that I can do or try to salvage this unit? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

I’m a little confused about the AA part. Are you saying that the one unit simply won’t charge or are you saying that the unit won’t turn on at all, even with fresh alkaline batteries installed? Those are two different issues.

I know it is not a power issue on the board because if you plug it into the base, even though the red light does not come on (indicating the unit is charging), the unit itself will still power on. Once the unit is removed from the base it powers off.

If you are saying the radio will work with alkalines but simply won’t charge with the rechargeable battery, it is possible the desktop charger is the issue. Did you try swapping the unit in both pockets of the charger? Desktop chargers do fail, so it is possible it may be the charger.