Help with Tacklife MTR01 Walkie Talkies

Hello - I’m an elementary school teacher in charge of Safety Patrol. Last school year (Sept. 2019) I purchased 12 walkie talkies from Amazon built by Tacklife (model MTR01). Some of the batteries and chargers have started to malfunction. I’ve contacted Tacklife support, and they no longer make the radios, nor do they have any replacement batteries or chargers. They have agreed to refund a portion of the money since they can’t really help me.

I want to be able to add another brand of radios that would be compatible with the Tacklife ones I already have. The Tacklife manual does not list the specific channels/frequencies. Currently, I bought a basic brand of 2 simple radios and just tried to find a common channel, but no luck. I have ordered a generic k programming cable to see if I can get better information about the Tacklife radio specifics so I can perhaps buy a compatible brand that doesn’t take a tech genius to reprogram to match - that’s not me!!

I want whatever radios I add to remain “simple” - 5th & 6th graders love to mess around with them, so I want to limit what they can change - channel, volume - that’s it! I understand that a channel on one brand of walkie talkie may be named a different channel on the Tacklife ones. I kind of understand CTCSS and DCS and know that I may need to disable this in order for the different brands to work together. Other than the very basics, my knowledge is limited.

I just need the radios to work, and unfortunately, I don’t think the PTA is going to want to buy me a whole new “set” since they just did last year. Any help or advice would be appreciated!