General MURS Questions/Info. (Sorry for the Wordiness)

I’m writing to see if anybody know specifics on how some things work. A little background: I am completely new to 2 way radios as many of you will guess or figure out. I have, already in my possession/ownership a set of Motorola Talkabout radios (the top of the line FRS/GMRS radios when I bought them) and noticed the range sucks (barely 3 or 4 blocks in urban setting). At this disappointment, I set out looking for viable alternative to FRS/GMRS radios that might offer a little bit more range. I work with a very close family friend in an industry that 95% of the time has us traveling long distances and, on occasion, we have the opportunity to work in pairs. When we do it would be nice to have some sort of 2 way communication easier, quicker, and more readily available than cell phones to communicate back and forth with. I read up as much as I could on MURS frequencies, which, from what I understand, are in what is or used to be part of the business VHF band. The appeal of which was sparked because, as I have observed, business VHF radios appear to carry a decent range. According to the FCC guidelines and/or “laws” MURS radios are limited to 2 watts of output power but no regulation on antenna gain, save for less than 20’ on a structure or 60’ freestanding. I have done a little searching to find a basic VHF 2 way radio solution that would be “compatible” with MURS frequencies. The only problem is, while I found programmable VHF radios, which appear to be programmable to use only MURS frequencies, I’m wondering if it is just that easy or if there is something I’m missing. I know commercially available MURS radios, as scarce as they may be, are 2 channel with 38 privacy codes (on average). The biggest draw to a “generic” VHF radio that I would custom program to MURS frequencies is the fact that most “generic” VHF radios have removable antennas, very often with standard connections that would permit connecting exter