Free course for license

Hi Folks, I a newbie here and looking for help. My boys and I are getting ready to purchase some BaoFeng radios for our back country hunting & hiking trips.

We are going to be in a remote area in the ADK Park in upstate New York, all 2 million acres of this park are open open to hiking and camping. There is no cell phone service so we are looking at these radios for communication. It is highly possible we will be 5 to 10 miles apart at times.

Which one radio would you suggest??

Also I saw a posting which I thought was from this site that had a web link posted where we could take a free online course to get our license. Anyone know this site???

Thank you for your help.

I can’t help you on the license as I’m in the UK, but radio to radio comms at 5 miles is pretty dreadful, and 10 unlikely, unless you are both on top of a hill will a valley between. Even high powered radios won’t cut it, unless one of you is somewhere up high! The problem is simply terrain, and even using VHF, which is a bit better for distance, the aerials you have on portables are pretty poor. A vehicle with a portable mast, antenna and a repeater will work, but that’s quite expensive.

I don’t know of any link in the forum to a course for a license, free or paid.

What specific license are you interested in? Amateur, Business, GMRS, or other?