Forestry service roads with baofeng

So I recently purchased the baofeng uv5r with the intention on monitoring the forestry roads. I do a lot of back country camping and the roads a pretty terrible so I try to do anything I can to avoid meeting a logging truck on them. I.e. Monitor the radio. So they use pre set channels for differ roads (example rr 16) and I can find the frequency for these online however when I’m on the frequency it won’t receive. The screen will light up by nothing with come through the speaker. I also notice that if I do hit the transmit button it jumps to another frequency while its held down. I wonder if this is some kind of encryption or if I have to program my radio or something. Just not really sure at all. I’m new to the two way style radios. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

you are operating in the duplex mode…it will TX with the offset that is programmed in.
Your instruction book, though poorly written should tell you how to put it in the simplex mode…

The short answer is the radio needs to be programmed.

Two way radio programmability

The longer answer is your chances of monitoring the radio communications on forestry roads will depend on a number of variables. For instance, if all the communications are analog, they are open (no voice scramble, companding or other features inherent in many radios to get in the way of clear monitoring), and the UV-5R can hit those frequencies, as long as you are within range, you will probably pick them up. If the communications are digital, using some sort of encryption or they are using frequencies outside the range of the UV-5R, chances are you won’t pick up much, if anything, at all.