Filmmaker, Radio/Overlander newbie plan help

Really happy to find this forum! I am a filmmaker with my own production company. We’ve always rented pretty much all our gear, but now I am building an overland-capable 2-ton truck with all the core tools I use (cameras/grip/electric/misc), as well as a travel trailer towed behind it to give me a base camp / mobile housing (I bring my family with me). All of this is to allow me to be more nimble and quick to get into production anywhere, including off-grid, and branch into some different sort of production I’m interested in (i.e. wilderness settings, etc.). I’ve been thinking and researching this for a couple years, was all set to do it, and then COVID-19 really put me over the top on definitely wanting to do it.

In my truck I was thinking to put an Icom IC-7100, and then a second unit (another IC-7100 or something else compatible but more portable?) that I could put in the trailer (so wife can communicate me from the trailer when I leave basecamp in my truck), or else that I could loan to a second vehicle when we’re in a convoy (because not everybody have radios, of course). I gather I need to get a HAM radio license of some sort (I know there is such a thing - that’s the limit of my knowledge). This would also be nice to get a unit for my mother who lives 20 miles away in case there’s a disaster that has wiped out cell phones, so I’d have a way to talk to her.