Dakota Alert Sensor Cover Attack!

I’ve been using Dakota Alert MURS Alert Transmitter for many years. I’m on my second one, and once again I have an animal (bird probably) attacking the white paper cover in the sensor port.

Questions:

1. Is it made of special paper?
  2. Can I color it darker to make it less tempting?
  3. Is there a better way to protect the PIR detector?

Many years ago DA sent me some of the paper so I could tape it over the front of the port, but I’m hoping there’s a better fix. Wondering if I’m the only one dealing with this issue.

Digikey, as well as other manufacturers, have a selection of PIR freznel lenses available. You will want to measure the focal length (distance from sensor to broken lense). When you find one with the same dimensions and focal length, buy a whole bag (they’re cheap).

Or is there a freznel lense behind that and this broken thing is just a window? Any IR transparent plastic would work for that.

1 Like

Here’s an idea, Put some wire screen (you will have to experiment with the size) over the lens port once you’ve fixed it (see above).

That should keep the birdies from pecking your plastic.

1 Like

Thanks for advice. I thought of doing that, but suspected the metal screen would interfere with the reception. Have you actually done this? I may have to do some experimenting.

Those ******* birds are still at it. Every time I replace the paper cover they attack. I’d like to find a plastic ring that fits, so I can put the paper deeper in the unit like the original. Then, if my experiments pan out, I could put a metal screen at the end.

Paint the front of it to look like a cat. Wide mesh wire screen should not interfere with the IR detection.

1 Like

That’s funny. I don’t think they’d be afraid of a tiny cat. I filled it with mothballs, and that didn’t slow them down at all. As soon as I get time I’m going to try test the metal screen idea. I’ll post my result here.