Connect Radio To Wifi

Hello All,

This is my first time posting! I work in a manufacturing plant with multiple buildings. We use two-way radios to communicate with each other in the plant. Currently, we are using Motorola RMU2040 (6 Mile Radius).

Now we have team members who are traveling to other locations outside of the radio range. Ideally, I wanted to find a way to connect our existing radios to a module that connects to wifi. From there I wanted to make it accessible to a cell phone. Not sure if there is existing apps/hardware to do something like this. Please advise what your thoughts are.

Thanks!

Well, if you’re only using a set of two radios, it’s probably not even worth the cost of creating a gateway or other methods of ‘over IP’ crosslinking the units. If those radio were bluetooth audio equipped, probably not, you could skip a handful of hurdles as quite a few BT equipped handhelds can function as BT speaker phone units when paired to a mobile phone/tablet. So, post pairing, it’s more on-device routing your connected IP gateway app to use the BT connection for audio and set up vox mode.

But i suspect that’s not on the cards, and retrofit BT adaptors that plug into existing external speaker-mic socketry of the better radios isn’t really worth the cost.

If there are more than a handful of sets, and you are potentially looking at replacements or a bigger rollout of sets in use, then maybe something RoIP/POC based (essentially using 3G/4G/LTE based ‘radios’ which are glorified Android phones mostly) may be the saner route - or more simply, use a digital voice communicator app on Android/IOS phones as that’s essentially the same as the cellular or wifi based RoIP/POC setup in the often overpriced fake radio handsets sold for that as dedicated hardware.