Best two way radio?

I am brand new to the world of radio communications. I’ve always carried one at work but never knew the intricacies involved. Anyway, I was wondering if you guys could help me out. I live on the High Plains 35-40 miles north of Amarillo Texas. It is flat, harsh land out here. Judging from advertised ranges I figured I would be able to supply myself and a few choice others in the city of Amarillo with two way radios and be able to communicate in a shtf type event. We have a plan should the unthinkable happen and it involves me covering nearly 45 miles on foot, with all my gear. There is a 3 day time frame before the plan moves into the second stage. I was hopeful that with two way radios we would be able to communicate with each other rather than me flying blind 45 miles in a very unforgiving environment no matter the season. I guess what I am really asking is; what is the best two way radio available to the general public at this point and time? Im aware of potential liscensesing being necessary and that is no concern to me. Price is not an issue either. Although after reading you can only get a couple miles out of a two way I really wouldn’t want to spend more than 100 bones tops on a set. If what I seek costs more than so be it. So lay it on me fellas. I appreciate your time and any response or shared information. Have a good day folks.

Lol. Those fingers got away from me there. I still cant type for nothing on this laptop. I meant to say licensing. Thanks again boys. Or girls?