Best Freq / Chan for family walkie talkies Baofeng UV-5R (5 radios!)

Bought a 5-pack of the Baofeng UV-5R radios. Would like to program them for a family camping excursion. There will be times when some will be off hiking, so we’ll need a little distance. (3 to 4 miles)
Would like to know what is the best Frequency / Channel to use for such a purpose.
Yes, I’m kinda new at this. I know just enough to get me into trouble…

They aren’t legal for what you want to do… Without a license, even with a license.
If you want to operate GMRS you need a part type compliant radio.

If you want to operate Family Radio Service, you need a 1/2 watt radio with a non removable antenna.

Amateur Radio - every member of your family needs to have their own license…

We can’t GIVE you frequencies, that is the job of the FCC…

It would help if at least you knew the rules, there is no free for all - where all you have to do is buy something and use it except CB radio.
That was the purpose of CB radio - to allow anyone to talk without having to go thru a license process.

Your best bet is to send them back and buy a couple of bubble pack radios, those radios - as you call them, could get you into trouble.
They transmit out of band, and just because Amazon -or what ever online seller sells them, doesn’t make them legal!

http://www.arrl.org/news/new-fcc-part-95-personal-radio-services-rules-published-in-the-federal-register

Effective September 30, 2019, it will be illegal to manufacture or import handheld portable radio equipment capable of operating under FRS rules and under other licensed or licensed-by- rule services. The FCC no longer will certify FRS devices that incorporate capabilities of GMRS capabilities or of other services.Aug 14, 2018