Baofeng UV82 in Canada

Hi all,

I am new to this hobby and new to this forum so I would appreciate the simple as possible answer as any newbie would understand.

So far I understand that Baofeng UV82 require a lcence to transmit here in Canada (I assume same in the US). How I understand it is not to use public/important frequencies used by Police, Fire Dept, etc.
I like the specific model Baofeng UV82 because of it’s increased power output/range and removable antenna.
If I buy this model Baofeng UV82 (I don’t need to hear and use reserved frequencies), is there any way to delete/disable forbidden frequencies, change the antenna to increase the range and use allowed frequencies with my family and friends when I am camping and in the woods?
If so, what range REALISTICLALY can I expect?
In that case what range am I gaining based on regular FRS that you buy at Costco and what range am I loosing from disabling it from forbidding frequencies?
Thank you all

First thing is that radios like the UV82 come with random frequencies programmed into them from the factory. Not only would it be illegal to transmit on most of those frequencies, it would potentially interfere with public service or other licenced business users. This means you must reprogram them using a programming cable plus software from either Chirp or Baofeng.

The UV82 is approved by the FCC for Part 90 (business) use, as well as amateur (ham) bands. It is primarily an amateur radio, and is not designed as a family or unlicenced business “walkie talkie” type radio. It is also a very poor scanner, assuming you could even find frequencies to scan. Most public service radios in Canada are on a trunking network and cannot be scanned by radios such as this. Plus, virtually all police, fire and EMS radios in Canada are now, or will soon be, fully encrypted, and cannot be monitored by any scanner.