Advice and Resources to understand and set up GMRS Home Base System

Hi Everyone - I am a newbie to GMRS and hoping you can help guide me a bit as I learn here :slight_smile:

I would like to set up a GMRS home base station. This is what I have so far:

Midland MXT400
DuraComm LPX-14 Power Supply

My MXT400 came with a MICROMOBILE® MXTA25 3DB GAIN GHOST ANTENNA which I believe is only for if I set it up in my SUV.

So back to the home base station I think I need:

Some type of antenna to put at the highest point of my house and some type of cable that would connect the antenna to my MXT400 which will be located in my home office.

I live in a suburban neighborhood that is up on a hill but there are houses of equal height around mine.

Can you let me know if there is a good general guide to setting up a GMRS home base station for the first time that speaks to every aspect of set up. And can you let me you your thoughts on what I outlined. Are the two items I mentioned the only two things that I still need or are there more. Is there a way to determine the best antenna for where my house is located (0 gain or 6 gain or 9 gain has my head spinning :slight_smile: and what is the best cable to use and why (I’ve heard that a LMR 400 cable is good but is it best and what are the variables that I need to look at to determine what would be best)

Thanks so much !

Joe