Need to know if this two way will work

Will this radio work in 2 miles city limits cobra the manufacturer MR HH350 FLT - 6 Watt

Hi Mike, the Cobra HH350 FLT is a marine radio and operates only on marine channels in the VHF band. It is not legal for use as a land based walkie talkie. Two way radios operate by line of sight, so although it can cover a lot of area over open water, it is not likely to have much range in a city. It wasn’t designed for that purpose.

In the future, please avoid multiple postings with the same query. The forum is designed to show the latest posts where ever they are, so when you post the first time, it will be seen.

Sorry I am new to this so what would you recommend for a 1.8 to 2.0 miles range for two ways in a suburban area

Thanks

It doesn’t really work like that. It’s about topography, geography and the objects in the way.
Some radios have higher power, but concrete with rebar is a great barrier to RF, and the curvature of the earth itself is a huge barrier. Your radio, being marine, is a great example. If you are in a canoe, the horizon is about 2.5 miles away - and all you have in the way is the water, with perhaps the occasional boat to reduce it further. If you have a VHF or UHF radio, then from your upstairs to a friends upstairs with nothing between could be workable over 3 or 4 miles. Go downstairs and it doesn’t work. If your house is on a small hill and so is your friends, but there is a valley between - then you might be 10 miles apart and it works great. Here, I live on a hill - well, it’s in a harbour town and I’m about 200 ft above the water. My office is 1 mile away, and I can just get from there to here, as the office is in the harbour area.