Two Way Radio Forum  

Go Back   Two Way Radio Forum > Two Way Radios > General Discussion

Click here to visit our ecommerce site - BuyTwoWayRadios.com

Old 05-19-2018, 02:22 PM

Default How do I add a broadcast channel?

Hey all,

I'm new to this, so apologies in advance if I explain my question badly.

I have 4 TIDRadio TD-M8 and 2 Baofeng UV-82 set up over 7 channels. Everything is as I'd like it, the software is pretty straightforward to use. Each channel uses CTCSS and everything seems to work great.

Only thing I would like is a broadcast channel on number 8 where anyone can go and send a message out to all radios, no matter what channel they're on at the time.

Is that possible?

Thanks,

Mark
Old 05-21-2018, 03:09 PM

Default Re: How do I add a broadcast channel?

If you mean that ch 1 has tone 1, channel 2 has a different tone and so on, and you want to do something to talk to every radio on the channel irrespective of the CTCSS, then I'm afraid you can't - because CTCSS is a single tone system. With commercial radios that use sequential tone signalling then this kind off thing is possible with careful programming, and of course with digital systems this kind off thing is built in. CTCSS is a prevention system to keep radios silent - so they don't have a CTCSS defeat option.
Old 05-22-2018, 07:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulears View Post
If you mean that ch 1 has tone 1, channel 2 has a different tone and so on, and you want to do something to talk to every radio on the channel irrespective of the CTCSS, then I'm afraid you can't - because CTCSS is a single tone system. With commercial radios that use sequential tone signalling then this kind off thing is possible with careful programming, and of course with digital systems this kind off thing is built in. CTCSS is a prevention system to keep radios silent - so they don't have a CTCSS defeat option.
Got you.