Two Way Radio Forum  

Go Back   Two Way Radio Forum > Two Way Radios > Business Radios

Click here to visit our ecommerce site - BuyTwoWayRadios.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2018, 01:43 PM
Quidproquo Quidproquo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default How to combine two separate incompatible (DLR1020's & RT27's) radios networks?

I'm trying to find an inexpensive way to bridge the Motorola DLR1020's amd Retevis RT27's. I've seen SureCom SR-628. Would that work? Are there any other options?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2018, 05:53 PM
Chickenhawk Chickenhawk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
Default Re: How to combine two separate incompatible (DLR1020's & RT27's) radios networks?

Can't be done. Sorry. They work on entirely different technologies.

The DLR radios work on a frequency-hopping technology in the 900MHz band. They are high-quality, military-grade radios, and the only radios that can be programmed to work with them is the Motorola DTR and DLR series. The RT27 is an inexpensive consumer-grade FRS radio that works in the 400MHz FRS band, and there is no way to get these two technologies to talk together.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2018, 10:40 PM
Quidproquo Quidproquo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 2
Default Re: How to combine two separate incompatible (DLR1020's & RT27's) radios networks?

I'm not talking about having each radio simultaneously communicating on different bands, I'm talking about using their analog outputs/inputs and a "two-radio bridge". That is, there are two radios, one DLR and one RT27 linked, for example, by a Surecom, where tx out of the DLR is forwarded to the RT27 and then tx'd to RT27's. Why wouldn't that work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2018, 12:10 AM
Chickenhawk Chickenhawk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 208
Default Re: How to combine two separate incompatible (DLR1020's & RT27's) radios networks?

Sounds easy, but it just won't work. Those cheap "repeater" bridges use audio from one to open the transmit circuit of the other. For them to work, both radios need VOX capability. Because the DLR has no VOX capability, the best it can work is one direction only. And this is assuming you can find a proper adapter cable for the Motorola. (Although it looks similar to the two-pin Kenwood cable, it is not the same. The two pins are much closer together on the Motorola and can't be interchanged.)

So the chances of this working in one direction only is slim, and assuming you can find a cable and tweak the VOX circuitry of the transmitting radio. The chances of it working in two directions is nil.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2018, Cricket Ventures LLC