Two Way Radio Forum  

Go Back   Two Way Radio Forum > Two Way Radios > Marine Radios

Click here to visit our ecommerce site - BuyTwoWayRadios.com

Old 07-18-2010, 02:50 PM

Default Land vhf frequencies on marine vhf radio, opinions, legal issues?

Im fairly new to the in depth of radio/FCC legalities, but ive been listening for years.

Im looking to purchase a vhf radio for use in my volunteer fire/rescue ems station and monitor local LE traffic in the area. carteret county is in the process of making the switch to narrow band so im in need of a radio thats compatable.
Located minutes from the atlantic in NC, i frequent the beach, and often out on the water. My vhf on my boat is 15-20 years old and is rather difficult navigate through channels with the worn out buttons on it.

So ive been browsing for both a land vhf and marine vhf options and while browsing vertex standards website i looked at standard horizon radios also and found this.
http://www.standardhorizon.com/index...3&isArchived=0

anyone have input/opinions on performance/ durability of this radio. and is there any legal issues/stipulations for using a "marine vhf" on land. but transmitting on land vhf frequencies. "aside from requiring FCC license to transmit.

basically if i can kill 2 birds with one stone so to speak, and not have to purchase 2 radios id be happy.
Old 07-18-2010, 10:06 PM

Default Re: Land vhf frequencies on marine vhf radio, opinions, legal issues?

As long as you are not transmitting on marine freqs from land you are not suing a "marine radio" on land.

I have one and it is great. Solid, well built and durable. It does NOT float however like some of the newer ones.

The 40 extra channels are perfect for LMR, HAM, etc. I have several local amateur freqs in it along with MURS.
It will do repeater splits and tones as well.

You do need a cable and software to program though, but that is no big deal.
Old 07-19-2010, 12:27 PM

you have another PM
Old 12-30-2010, 08:22 PM