FCC Proposes major changes in GMRS and other Part95 rules/services

Here’s the FCC NPRM requesting comment and discussion of their proposed changes, which, among other things, propose to end the requirement for licensing in GMRS, LOWER the power allowed (to 2 watts for portables), potentially remove repeaters, firmly prohibit scrambling of any kind, and perhaps, prohibit use of radios dual/type accepted for part 90 and 95!

http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/FCC-10-106A1.pdf

or, in doc form:

http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/FCC-10-106A1.doc

or, simple .txt:

http://hraunfoss.fcc.gov/edocs_public/attachmatch/FCC-10-106A1.txt

I’m just getting into this arena, and from where I’m standing these changes look pretty big. I can’t help but think that the GMRS changes are to some degree a result of the bubble pack FRS/GMRS radios and folks not getting their licenses. The best way to correct this is to change the rules. Those that legally have GMRS are going to get the short end of the stick in regards to wattage limitations, etc.

If these changes actually come into play, I hope that there is a provision so that those who have a GMRS license can still use 5 watt portables, 50 watt max base stations and still have access to repeaters. The bubble packs, with few exceptions, cannot access the repeaters due to their inability to split frequencies and access to 467mhz frequencies. What’s next? -enough people using ham equipment without licenses and the FCC will abolish the ham ticket as well?..sure hope not…