Two Way Radio Forum  

Go Back   Two Way Radio Forum > Two Way Radios > Business Radios

Click here to visit our ecommerce site - BuyTwoWayRadios.com

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2016, 05:23 PM
Hotshot Hotshot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default Moto DP1400 - Help

Chaps
Thanks for having me here.

I'm needing a bit of help and always find forums a great start.

I have a set (6) DP1400 radios, these were previously used for business by the first owners. They seem programmed only to one channel and work flawlessly with each other.
I want to be able to return them to factory or (default) settings if there is such a thing.
Can anyone advise if this is possible without sending back to a moto distributor.
I'm fine with software on pc if thats whats needed, looking to make this is as pain free (cost neutral) as possible.

Thanks for any help.
  #2  
Old 12-23-2016, 06:05 AM
paulears paulears is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 168
Default Re: Moto DP1400 - Help

Hamfiles is a good source of the software, and you will need to buy cables. There isn't really a manufacturers/factory setting, because that's totally empty. Motorola protect their software quite actively, so when you get the software, you can programme whatever you need/have a license for. What do you want to do with them?
  #3  
Old 12-23-2016, 08:25 AM
Hotshot Hotshot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default Re: Moto DP1400 - Help

Hi Paul
Thanks for taking the time.
I want to use them for connecting with other radio users on annestate that I shoot on.
Is it possible to pgm these for the channels (pr446) I think it is?
The guys just use free two way radios.
Also, if possible I'd like to add in a private channel that matches some of the other guys I know but not sure of the frequency they use.

If you had the time, Id appreciate if you could link me to the software Id need, Im good at finding my way around stuff once I have the right tool.
Im really green when it comes to these radios though.

Thanks again - youve been a great help so far.
  #4  
Old 12-23-2016, 03:18 PM
paulears paulears is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: East Anglia, UK
Posts: 168
Default Re: Moto DP1400 - Help

Well they're a bit of a waste to use on PMR446.
https://hamfiles.co.uk/index.php?pag...trbo-cps-v12-1

This will get you going.

Don't forget that technically,using these on the PMR446frequencies is illegal, but I doubt anyone would notice. You could use the digital channels in 446 if you wanted for virtually secret comms.
  #5  
Old 12-23-2016, 06:45 PM
Hotshot Hotshot is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 4
Default Re: Moto DP1400 - Help

Paul
Again, thanks - I've looked at this site and I'll need to earn the points to download the software.
Once I can look at the software I'll know more about what the flexibility is on the radios.
I can't do a scan or adjust squelch or anything like that right now, I'm guessing since they were used in a close circuit workplace they were locked down a bit as the need for scanning etc was not there.
Can't promise I won't have some more questions but I appreciate your help so far.
  #6  
Old 12-25-2016, 03:51 PM
jwilkers jwilkers is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Posts: 649
Default Re: Moto DP1400 - Help

Closed, because operating of radios on the frequencies indicated by the OP are illegal.
__________________
Licensed ham: KD8DVR
Licensed GMRS:WQWK521
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012, Cricket Ventures LLC